Chapter Eight of Lemov's book had some great ideas for improving the rhythm of pacing in the classroom.  He suggests changing the format of the lesson rather than the topic.  The pace of the lesson should change every ten minutes (or the student's age plus two) to keep the student's interested.  The students need "reference points" to help them feel the lesson is moving forward.  Some examples of reference points are verbal signals to start and end an activity, such as, "Here we go!" and "Stop!"  Other reference points can be an written agenda on the board so students know what to expect.  Another technique to use in class is to alternate passive activities, such as reading and writing with active activities such as kinesthetic activities and singing.   
 
By "brightening the lines" between activities, the stuents feel more breaks and don't get as easily bored with the lesson.  Use exact odd minutes to show the students you are serious about the clock and the time spent.  This immediately focuses the student on a tangible goal this will be finite.  

After reading this chapter, I taught my second lesson in the third grade at Francis Willard.  I used the countdown technique to focus the group and gain their attention.  It worked marvelously!  I also drew "bright lines" between the activities by signally verbally when we would start and end.  I also alternated between passive and active activities.  For instance, we started out by finding some text features, then "cold calling" reading some of the chapter.  Then, I taught them a rap about animals, and we wrote on a graphic organizer.  We ended by playing some matching games in small groups, having to do with animal features.
 
I think varying the pace is a very important way to keep students actively engaged in the classroom.  



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi!  My name is Anna Schmitz, and I have just earned my Elementary Education degree from Southwestern College.  I strive to be a life-long learner.  This blog is in response to questions from Teach Like a Champion and Teaching Outside the Box.  I have included my knowledge and perspective on teaching in the elementary school. 

    Archives

    December 2012
    November 2012

    Categories

    All