5. Make a short list of what you want your students to do or think about when you use "Wait Time."  Write yourself two or three five-second scripts that you can practice and use while teaching to reinforce effective academic behaviors and discipline yourself to wait.

I want students to:
    1. Think about the question longer and more deeply.
    2. Think about connections to another topic.
    3. Consider why their answer is correct; be able to justify it.
    4. Try harder and longer to think of the correct answer.
    5. Feel comfortable and not stressed out if they are a slow-processor.
    6. Allow shy and/or intimidated students the opportunity to think of an answer and share it.

"I am going to give everyone extra time to think about this question because I want you to think about different possible answers before you speak."

"I will take hands after ten seconds of think time."

"I would like you to write down some ideas before I call on someone to answer."  



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi!  My name is Anna Schmitz, and I have just earned my Elementary Education degree from Southwestern College.  I strive to be a life-long learner.  This blog is in response to questions from Teach Like a Champion and Teaching Outside the Box.  I have included my knowledge and perspective on teaching in the elementary school. 

    Archives

    December 2012
    November 2012

    Categories

    All