3. How can teachers effectively establish rapport with students who come from different cultural or ethnic backgrounds from the teacher's?
The first step to establishing rapport with students from diverse backgrounds is to be genuinely respectful of each of those students.  Getting to know each of these students and valuing each student's contribution to the world is an excellent way to gain respect as a teacher.  As a teacher, I would make sure to ask each students questions about what they like to do and invite them to share traditions and practices that are unique to their culture.  Most importantly, I will listen to these students and try to reach out to them by learning more about who they are and what they value.  By celebrating our differences and embracing our uniqueness, I will hopefully give a message that I care about each student as a unique human being who is deserving of respect and love, and who has something important to contribute to the world.

6. Share some comments that you remember from your childhood teachers.  Why do you still remember those comments?
I am very fortunate in that I remember many encouraging and positive messages from my teachers over the years.  Many were written comments on assignments, including smiley faces from my first-grade teacher.  I still remember feeling great about myself as I looked at those smiley faces.  As I grew older, teachers continually told me what a positive person I was and how talented I was.  I really enjoyed the positive reinforcement, and it made me want to try even harder to succeed.  I do, however, still remember one negative comment from my Sunday School teacher when I was in fifth grade.  We were having a lesson on the "fruits of the Spirit," and I couldn't stop talking to my friends during the lesson.  The teacher stopped, looked at me, and said, "Anna, you do not have any self-control, which is one of the fruits of the Spirit!"  For a long time afterwards, I thought I could not master that habit of self-control because of what the teacher said.  It is amazing how powerful those comments can be.  As an adult, I have, of course, worked hard to develop self-control and discipline, and I am happy to say that I have improved greatly since the fifth grade...! 



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi!  My name is Anna Schmitz, and I have just earned my Elementary Education degree from Southwestern College.  I strive to be a life-long learner.  This blog is in response to questions from Teach Like a Champion and Teaching Outside the Box.  I have included my knowledge and perspective on teaching in the elementary school. 

    Archives

    December 2012
    November 2012

    Categories

    All