3. One of the keys to responding effectively to "almost right" answers--reinforcing effort but holding out for top-quality answers--is having a list of phrases you think of in advance.  After reflecting, try to write four or five of your own.

1) You're almost there--now what's the rest of the answer?
2) You've got a good start; now cross the finishing line!
3) I like the direction you're headed.  Can you keep going further?
4) You've got the right idea; can you make it even clearer?
5) OK, but can you look at it from a different angle and answer again?



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi!  My name is Anna Schmitz, and I have just earned my Elementary Education degree from Southwestern College.  I strive to be a life-long learner.  This blog is in response to questions from Teach Like a Champion and Teaching Outside the Box.  I have included my knowledge and perspective on teaching in the elementary school. 

    Archives

    December 2012
    November 2012

    Categories

    All