1. Script the steps and expectations for the five most critical routines in your classroom.
1) Entry Routine:
    "As soon as you enter the room, hang up your coat and backpack.  Then, put your homework in the "homework basket" on my desk.  Mark on the "Lunch Chart" if you will have hot or cold lunch and indicate white or chocolate milk.  Next, pick up the "Morning Warm-up" sheet and take it to your desk.  Make sure all your pencils are sharpened and ready to go for the day.  Work on your warm-up sheet.  When you are finished, read a book until the announcements come on the loudspeaker.  I expect very little talking during our morning routine, no touching other people, and students hard at work when sitting at your desks."
2) Do Now Routine:
    "If you complete an assignment early, you should look at the "I'm Through, What do I Do?" poster hanging on the wall in our room.  (Point to the poster).  It lists several things you can do when you are finished with an assignment early.  You may work on handwriting, math homework, write in your agenda, silent read, review flashcards, or take a bathroom break.  I expect you will always be busy learning and working in this classroom."
3) Lining Up Routine:
    "When we line up to go to Specials, lunch, or recess, we have a routine.  On my count 1, stand up and push in your chairs.  Stand behind your chair with your hands resting on the top of it.  On count 2, please face the door.  On count 3, follow your line leader to the door, keeping an arm's length distance between the person in front of you."  If necessary, I will mark the floor with tape so students know how far apart to stand from each other.  I will also make a map of the route so students will learn to always follow the same path to get into line.  We will even play a game and see how quickly and quietly we can line up.  Students think this is fun, and they can try to beat their record.  This saves valuable time over course of a school year!
4) Tight Transitions:
    "Anytime we move from one activity to another, we want to be quick and safe.  We need to put materials away and get materials out efficiently.  I will assign a "Table Leader" each week who will be responsible for bringing materials to his/her table and putting them away when we are finished.  For instance, when we need to get our science textbooks out, the table leaders will quickly and quietly get them from the shelf and bring them to their table.  When you need markers or other supplies for an assignment, the table leader will gather the necessary supplies from the supply shelf and bring them to the table.  When the assignment or lesson is done, the table leader will return the supplies to the shelf.  I expect table leaders to be responsible for being careful when carrying supplies to and from tables, and to be quick and quiet when moving around the classroom."
5) End-of-the-Day Routine:
    "Ten minutes before you are dismissed from school, I will say, 'Time to pack up!'  This is your cue to put all of your supplies away, make sure your agenda, mail, and homework is in your binder to take home, get your coat on, and put your chair on your desk, upside down.  This is so the janitor can vacuum our room later.  Then, you should pick up any trash that is on the floor, starting with your area and working your way across the room.  Please do not line up until I say it is time to do so.  Everyone should be picking up trash and straightening the room until I give the signal to line up.  This is so we all work together to keep our classroom looking nice.  Then, I will make announcements and dismiss you.  I expect you to work hard and stay in your own space as you get ready to leave for the day." 
    
     



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi!  My name is Anna Schmitz, and I have just earned my Elementary Education degree from Southwestern College.  I strive to be a life-long learner.  This blog is in response to questions from Teach Like a Champion and Teaching Outside the Box.  I have included my knowledge and perspective on teaching in the elementary school. 

    Archives

    December 2012
    November 2012

    Categories

    All